Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

December 12, 2024

Mr. Rich Clark
Executive Director
College Football Playoff
545 E John Carpenter Frwy, Suite 1025
Irving, TX 75062

Mr. Nick Carparelli Executive Director Bowl Season 100 Montana Street San Antonio, TX 78203

Dear Mr. Clark and Mr. Carparelli:

The Army vs. Navy Football Game – affectionately known as "America's Game" – has long been recognized as one of the greatest events in all of college sports. The game is so important that it continued to be played even during World War II. Citizens throughout the world look forward to the game's telecast, which engages the interest of millions of Americans, including the hundreds of thousands of current and former military personnel who watch it.

The game is always played in a sold out NFL venue and brings patriotism and pageantry to the fans in the stadium and to the people of the host city. To reflect the immeasurable esteem that this event has garnered for decades, it has been played for many years on a Saturday reserved specifically for the Army vs. Navy Game without any competing college football events.

As you know, college commissioners voted unanimously to schedule the twelve-team College Football Playoff (CFP) around the Army vs. Navy Football Game. The decision demonstrated a significant degree of respect extended by the most prominent leaders in college football, which we strongly commend. Nevertheless, the expanded CFP will cause other bowl games—for the first time in recent history—to be played on the same day as the Army vs. Navy Game.

We write out of concern that the additional games detract from the focus on our Armed Forces that the nationally televised Army vs. Navy Game provided with a unique day set aside for it. Young Americans often cite the pregame events as igniting their interest in serving in uniform. The airtime of those pregame events are now in jeopardy with a preceding televised college football game. We feel there is no other block of time in television programming that rekindles our nation's patriotism, unity, and confidence in the military and promotes a greater sense of appreciation than this incredible game day production.

On behalf of both Army and Navy, all those who are serving or have served our country and the citizens whom we represent, we respectfully request you set aside the second Saturday in December in future seasons solely for the Army vs. Navy Game to preserve this time-honored tradition.

We would like to thank you in advance for recognizing the importance of safeguarding the exclusivity of the Army vs. Navy Game and are hopeful we can work together to protect America's Game.

Sincerely,

United States Senator

on Sull

<mark>o</mark>ni Ernst

United States Senator

Joe Manchin III

United States Senator

Marsha Blackburn

United States Senator

Angus King

United States Senator

Krysten Sinema

United States Senator

Benjamin L. Cardin

United States Senator

Jack Reed

United States Senator

Tim Kaine

United States Senator

Tom Cotton

United States Senator

Tommy Tuberville

United States Senator

Jacky Rosen

United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy

United States Senator

Steve Daines

United States Senator

Bill Cassidy, M.D.

Bill Cassidy, M.D. United States Senator

Mark Kelly

United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Cypthia M. Lummis
United States Senator

Peter Welch United States Senator

Rick Scott United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Deb Fischer United States Senator

David McCormick United States Senator-elect Jeanne Shakeen

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

Kevin Cramer United States Senator

Pete Ricketts
United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

James E. Risch United States Senator

John Boozman
United States Senator

Timothy P. Sheehy United States Senator-elect

Robert J. Wittman

Robert J. Wittman Member of Congress

Pat Ryan Member of Congress

James Moylan Member of Congress

Nick LaLota Member of Congress

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

Cory Mills

Member of Congress

Jason Crow

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress MIMM

Mike Garcia Member of Congress

Jake Ellzey

Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Austin Scott
Member of Congress

C. Scott Franklin Member of Congress

Frott Franklin

Thomas H. Kean, Jr. Member of Congress

Keith Self

Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

MikeLawle

Member of Congress

Rich McCormick Member of Congress

Jen Kiggans

Member of Congress

Jeff Duncan

Member of Congress

Troy E. Nehls

Member of Congress

Mike Kelly
Member of Congress

Nick Langworthy Member of Congress

Chuck Fleischmann Member of Congress

Ryan Zinke

Member of Congress

CC:

The Honorable Charlie Baker President, National Collegiate Athletic Association P.O. Box 7110 Indianapolis, Indiana 46206-6222

Dr. Mark Keenum President, Mississippi State University Chair of the CFP Board of Managers P.O. Box 6018 Mississippi State, MS 39762